Blog Post #3: Feedback on Infographic/ Research Proposal

Infographic link :

https://drive.google.com/a/stanford.edu/file/d/0ByOG2rwpp0T4SFRyMmZmSmtHUnM/view?usp=sharing

Feedback: 

  1. Research Proposal: A common feedback I received on my research proposal was that my thesis wasn’t structured well and was too broad to be considered as a research topic. Based on this feedback, I attempted to direct my research topic towards one question rather than focussing on the different aspects of hacktivism.
  2. Infographic: The infographic really helped me to structure my ideas and present them in a visually interactive way to my classmates. I attempted to sum the history of hacktivism and link the way media covers hacktivism in the United States with how people receive news related to hacktivism in the country. A feedback I received was that my infographic didn’t really convey the nuances of my topic, which I believe now has been tackled by the data I have included in it.

Research Question:

How has the rhetoric used by the media and various government representatives shaped the popular consensus about hacktivist groups and whistleblowers? What is the need for this negative portrayal by the media for hacktivism and what are some ways we can address this problem?

3 thoughts on “Blog Post #3: Feedback on Infographic/ Research Proposal”

  1. I like how your infographic has a clear progression of information; it’s very easy to tell what the logical next section to read is. I also like how you present examples of media coverage and then go on to demonstrate the effects on public opinion. I think this infographic very nicely reflects your research question and does so in a way that provides appropriate context. Something I’d be interested in learning about that is somewhat related but maybe too broad would be comparing the negative coverage of Edward Snowden/similar figures to the media coverage of David Petraeus, who also provided people outside the government with classified information but in a different (non-whistleblower) context and who was treated by both the press and the government in a much different manner than Snowden et al. were.

    Like

  2. I think the data that you included into your infographic really does help understand one of the questions you are planning to address better. It would be interesting to also learn if the negative portrayal of hacktivists (like Snowden) achieves the goal of drawing the general population’s attention away from the topic hacked or discourages people from getting into hacktivism, although it’s unclear whether it is really possible to get data on that.

    Like

  3. One thing I’m really curious about is how the portrayal of hacktivists and whistleblowers has changed since Snowden. I think that a lot of people respect Snowden and have since criticized the government for its treatment of whistleblowers. Since that point, many new laws have been created to protect whistleblowers, which reflects a shift in the perception of these individuals on both the citizen and politician level. I don’t think the government can ever fully condone hacktivism, but I am curious how you think the perception and role of whisteblowers will change in the future.

    Like

Leave a Reply

