Link to Infographic can be found here (only valid for Stanford users)

A large proportion of my research proposal was devoted to using examples and anecdotes. While this was effective, it also caused my proposal to lack depth. Something that came up quite frequently in review sessions was the reader asking for clarification about such-and-such documentary that I had failed to describe, or wondering why I had not explored a topic further in depth. This in turn would confuse the reader, wondering, for example, why I would utilize a documentary about killer whales (Blackfish) to connect it to my focus (LGBTQ+ film activism). While I had thought that I had drilled deep into my topic, I had only just skimmed the surface to my readers. Another topic of discussion was that I had too many sources which, compounded with my lack of depth, produced a very broad but shallow research proposal.

Comments on my infographic were better in that they mostly focused on my presentation than the infographic itself. I believe that my research and particular style lent to a good infographic, in that there was a large amount of shallow information that the reader can glance at without taking too much into account. However, there were critiques. As you can see, in the middle part of the infographic, there’s a large wall of names (the names of trans women killed in 2015), that I intended to use for dramatic effect. When initially created, the infographic was simply too visually confusing, a critique that was common throughout my presentation.

These critiques however have helped me shape my research question even better now. My initial question wondered if LGBTQ+ documentaries served as forms of activism for the LGBTQ+ community. After everything, however, I believe that my question is better stated as: Are LGBTQ+ documentaries effective forms of LGBTQ+ activism? By comparing and contrasting with sources such as Tim Jordan’s Activism!, my tentative thesis, is that yes, LGBTQ+ documentaries are effective forms of activism.

Leave a Reply

