Reframing Research Focus Based on Feedback

Link to infographic: https://drive.google.com/drive/folders/0B_Sz4pwaSJ1lM3dpc09XZ280YVE?usp=sharing

Part of the general feedback I received on my written research proposal was the need for a bit more specificity with regard to my research questions, primarily due to the broad nature of love and its many definitions. I originally intended to track the evolution of love in social justice movements over time to see how definitions and uses of love have changed. While this will definitely still be a component of my research, I want to focus that endeavor within a framework of comparing the development of outward-oriented love and inward-oriented love in social justice movements. Evaluating whether or not this way of viewing love in social justice is a legitimate framework, and what such a framework can teach us about the role of love today, is a more feasible goal than the broad exploration of love and its definitions.

The feedback I got during my genre modes presentations seems to support this decision. People seemed to be engaged by the comparison between the development of outward-oriented love and inward-oriented love that was the main focus of my visual, and this focus helped me more narrowly channel my information, whereas before I simply had too much info stemming from so many possible directions I could explore. In light of this feedback, I’ve refocused my questions as follows: Is a dual perspective of outward-oriented love versus inward-oriented love a legitimate framework through which to understand the role of love in social justice movements? And what can such a framework tell us about the role love has to play in social justice today?

Based on material I have read thus far, my tentative thesis would be that the framework described above is an effective way to understand love in social justice, but that nuances of the framework are vital as well, such as the fact that the two forms of love are not mutually exclusive. Love, then, should play a prominent role in shaping not only activist tactics, rhetoric, and strategy, but in molding visions for the future that movements strive toward. This is of course still very tentative and will adapt as I continue to expand my research.
2 thoughts on “Reframing Research Focus Based on Feedback”

  1. I really love the tree in your infographic and what it seems to signify. I agree that the information on your infographic is a bit too broad and it would be easier for the viewer to understand your RBA if you could focus more in detail about your research topic! But all in all, its a great infographic and is definitely visually appealing.

    Like

  2. I think that, as a clarification, you could directly focus on contextualizing what love meant to the Greeks – and how they had more than one word for love – If you could use the words Agapé, Storge, Philos, Eros as a means to better discuss what love means, that could also help. For love is as broad as it is powerful, it is important to narrow it down even further than other-directed and self-directed.

    Like

Leave a Reply

